The Major County Sheriffs' Association (MCSA) is a professional law enforcement association of elected sheriffs representing counties or parishes with 500,000 population or more. We are dedicated to preserving the highest integrity in law enforcement and the elected Office of the Sheriff. Our membership represents over 100 million Americans.

MCSA works to promote a greater understanding of law enforcement strategies to address futures problems and identify law enforcement challenges facing the members of our organization. We are committed to advancing legislative issues that will enhance the safety of our communities.

MCSA also aggressively pursues the development of innovative education along with prevention and enforcement strategies and programs.

We believe that law enforcement and criminal justice organizations benefit greatly by having a forum in which to share ideas, concepts and resources. The MCSA facilitates that process by serving as a law enforcement information gathering resource.

The MCSA is available to provide technical assistance in conjunction with the National Sheriffs' Association, the Major Cities Chiefs, the Federal Bureau of Investigation Training Division, the National Executive Institute and other private or public research entities.

We cordially invite you to contact any MCSA officer for additional information.


Richard W. Stanek is the 27th Sheriff of Hennepin County and is serving in his second term. A 29-year veteran of law enforcement, Sheriff Stanek began his career with the Minneapolis Police Department, where he started as a Patrol Officer, rose through the ranks, and was eventually appointed Commander of their Criminal Investigations Division. Concurrent with his police career, Sheriff Stanek served five terms in the Minnesota House of Representatives, where he chaired the Crime Policy & Finance Committee. In 2003, he was appointed by the Governor to lead Minnesota?s largest law enforcement agency as Commissioner of Public Safety and Director of Homeland Security.

Major County
Sheriffs' Association
1450 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA

Toll Free:
(855) MAJ-CNTY

(202) 237-2001

Major County Sheriffs' Association Officers 2014-15Board was sworn in at the Winter Meeting in WDC. These Sheriffs will serve in their respective offices for a two year term of office. There are (from left to right) Michael Bouchard, VP Gov. Affairs; Mike Ferrence, Exec. Dir.; Dave Mahoney, Secretary; Sandra Hutchens, VP; Donny Youngblood, Pres.; Rich Stanek, Immediate Past Pres.; and John Aubrey, Treas.

Meeting with Vice President Joe Biden
MCSA President with Vice President Joe Biden immediately following a meeting with Executive Board representatives of the MCSA and the NSA. The meeting focused on issues of mental health as they relate to detention operations, consultation regarding the nomination of key law enforcement officials at the Federal level, and Immigration issues.

Copyright 2013. Major County Sheriffs’ Association. All rights reserved.
Site Sponsored by Harris Corporation
Web Site Services:
Dogwood Productions, Inc.